Sit Tight with Soap & Glory – Retro Chick Reviews

Wednesday, May 5, 2010

One of my main aims in life is to look as good as possible with the least possible effort.

Hence, any product that offers me this chance without a) costing a fortune and b) lying will earn an eternal place in my heart.

The latest product to earn that place is this:

Now, it costs £14, and I probably wouldn’t normally spend that on, well, on anything. This particular day, about a week ago, I was feeling a bit sorry for myself after a fight with some clothes in a New Look changing room and decided to give it a go to cheer me up.

I’m a total sucker for cute packaging, so I always check out the Soap & Glory shelf, in fact much of my bathroom is starting to look a lot like the Soap & Glory shelf. I like the smell, the look, and I find they generally work.

This time, however, I confess I was sceptical.

The Claim:

The exclusive sit-released firming system is loaded with caffeine (at a level between 27-33%) which is known for its extended lipolytic, firming and draining actions.


The friction/heat generated by the user during the act of sitting acts as a release mechanism to trigger increased movement of the product to the lower body areas most affected by fatty tissue buildup.


With the addition of DETOXYBOOST, an active shown to help healthy circulation, a daily massaged-on application of Sit Tight helps to stimulate more efficient movement of fluid.


We would recommend rubbing Sit Tight onto your thighs vigorously each morning, as massage is well known to help move excess fluid build-up.


The Reality:

I’m pleasantly surprised.

I gave my thighs a thorough examining, which wasn’t pleasant, making mental note of dimples and and unattractive, non summer short friendly ripply skin. Then I obligingly massaged a layer of cream into them each morning, waited the advised 30 seconds, got dressed and then went and sat down for a bit.

What happens is your skin feels a bit hot, in that weird cold, deep heat kind of way, then it wears off. Periodically, during the day, you’ll suddenly notice your skin feels a bit hot again. I really liked this, it made me feel like the product was doing something, it might be nonsense in a scientific sense for all I know, but I liked it.

A week later I can genuinely say I have noticed a difference in the condition of my skin. They’re smoother at the tops of my thighs and 2 particularly large and unpleasant dimples are definitely significantly smaller than they were a week ago. There is no loss in in inches, but I wasn’t really expecting that, especially not for £14.

My only real complaint is that it’s slightly overpackaged, as the tube comes in an unnecessary cardboard box, but at least it’s recyclable.

I am a total convert.

Now, I’m not stupid, (shush at the back there!), I do know that I might have had similar results if I’d just massaged my thighs with anything every morning, but we’ll never know now  will we.

I like the packaging. I like the heating action. I like the results.

I like Soap & Glory Sit Tight.

You can buy Sit Tight online at Boots.com for £14
17 Responses
  • Emma
    May 5, 2010

    Ah I’m glad you’ve reviewed this, I’ve been curious about whether it works!

    Odd question, but is it the same scent as the other products in the range? I *love* that smell.

    • Retro Chick
      May 5, 2010

      No, I know the smell you mean, the almost powdery one?

      This smells kind of minty, a bit antiseptic almost. It’s not unpleasant, but it’s not that lovely powdery smell! I use the body butter too (or I will when I buy some more!)so that gives me my lovely smell!

      • PerfectlyTwistd
        May 5, 2010

        the body butter is one of my favourite things, been using it for ages

  • PixelHazard
    May 5, 2010

    wow it works. i will have to take an unnecessary browse in the shops and give it or something like it a shot

  • Abilu
    May 5, 2010

    Ah! this is great I have been meaning to try this one. I am a rescent convert to Soap and Glory in particular the “Make youself youthful rejuventaing face serum” which is divine and smells heavenly! also the “fab pore hot cloth cleanser” which is also great and I have been really impressed by their performance and quality for the price as I used to use a much more expensive brand! The only one I have been disapointed with was the eye serum! Keep us posted if you try any others out! Oh! and Boots often have a 3 for 2 offer on them. 🙂

  • LandGirl1980
    May 5, 2010

    I love all products by Soap & Glory. Just the name hooked me a couple of years back – let alone that delicious smell! Just wanted to contribute to how much I love their products really. I’ll shaddup now ;o)

  • Fashion Limbo
    May 5, 2010

    never heard of this brand before, or if I saw it at a store it didn’t grab my attention, but now I’m curious. Guess it’s available at Boots? xx

  • L.T.
    May 5, 2010

    Hmm, I might have to give this a go! I am a complete Soap and Glory convert since I was given a huge load of products for my birthday.

    My friend has been using the Firminator, a very similar product that S&G do. But it has a minty smell and I hate mint, so this sounds like it might be worth trying instead.

  • Lady Peach
    May 5, 2010

    I’ve been dreading the thought of having to put on a bikini soon and expose my legs to the world!! Def need to get this!
    Thanks for sharing 🙂
    Lady Peach

  • Ellie
    May 6, 2010

    I know what you mean, I am really loving Soap and Glory recently and its starting to take over my bathroom too lol. Great review 🙂 Lovely blog, Im a newbie follower!! hehe Have a nice day xox

  • The Lingerie Kid
    May 6, 2010

    Really good review. No messing and straight to the point. Shame we didn’t have any before and after pictures…. (just the improvement areas)

    Anyway, I am off to give it a go myself

    • Retro Chick
      May 6, 2010

      Ah ha! Yes, I did think about that. But I’m not quite ready for photos of my dimply thighs to be all over the internet!

  • Laura Connell
    May 7, 2010

    Wow, that’s amazing! I had a good laugh at the name of the product, too.

  • Ivânia Santos By DIAMOND
    May 7, 2010

    Great blog


  • Sonja - Hello Beauty
    May 7, 2010

    Loved your review! I find it so hard to tell if these kinds of products work. That’s awesome that you could see a difference. But yeah, so hard to tell if you’d get the same effect with regular massage with any ol’ lotion.

  • Lissa
    May 12, 2010

    I put a thick layer of this cream on about fifteen minutes ago and I have to admit that I’m not loving the sensation. It almost nips!

    Still, like you said, at least it feels like it’s doing something. It reminds me a lot of FatGirlSlim by Bliss but without the ridiculous price tag. I also lathered some on my upper arms to see if it gets rid of my bingo wing fat… oh dear, what are we like?!

  • Abbie
    May 29, 2010

    bought the product this afternoon, will write again in a week or so with an update to its performance 🙂

    P.S it is on offer in selected boots stores for £9.33!!!